AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

For listenersOffer from Amazon

Turn the school run and nap time into listening time

  • Thousands of audiobooks, podcasts and originals
  • Listen on your phone, tablet or Echo — also offline
  • Cancel anytime
Try Audible free Free trial for new members
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library provides a free, specially selected book each month to registered children from birth through age five. The program, launched in 1995 in Parton’s home county in Tennessee, now operates in five countries through shared funding from Parton and local community partners.

Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library mails one free, specially selected book each month to children from birth through age five in participating communities across five countries. The program, which began in Parton’s home county in East Tennessee in 1995, is funded jointly by Parton and local community partners, according to the organization’s website.

The library says it serves children in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia and the Republic of Ireland. Its books are mailed directly to registered children’s homes, and the program is intended to make books available regardless of a family’s income. The organization describes the selections as high-quality and age-appropriate, with a new book sent each month.

The current information provided by the organization says the program gifts millions of books each month. It does not give, in that description, a precise current number of enrolled children, a country-by-country breakdown, or a dated total of books distributed. The figure should therefore be understood as the organization’s broad description of its monthly activity, not as a separately verified count in the material available here.

Local partners share the costs with Parton, but the website summary does not specify the exact funding formula or describe how each community organizes enrollment and delivery. Families need to check the program’s official site or local partner for current eligibility and registration details in their area.

At a glance
reportWhen: Program launched in 1995; current reach…
The developmentThe Imagination Library’s current program model and international reach are described in information published by the organization.

Monthly Books Reach Young Children

The program’s model puts physical books in children’s homes on a regular schedule, before they reach school age. For participating families, the monthly delivery can provide access to books without requiring a purchase, while the local funding arrangement allows communities to take part in a program supported by Parton and community partners.

The organization says the goal is to inspire a love of reading and help children feel excited about books. Those are stated aims, not evidence in the supplied material of measured reading outcomes. The practical news for families is the offer itself: a book each month for enrolled children through age five, where the service operates and registration is available.

Amazon

board books for babies high contrast durable

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

From One Tennessee County Abroad

Parton launched the Imagination Library in 1995 for children in her home county in East Tennessee. The organization says her motivation was connected to her father’s inability to read and write. The initial effort sought to encourage reading among preschool children and families by sending a selected book directly to each child’s home.

Parton’s statement on the organization’s website describes books as a source of inspiration for children’s dreams. She said, “The seeds of these dreams are often found in books and the seeds you help plant in your community can grow across the world.” The program later expanded beyond its original county; the organization now lists five countries as places where it operates. The source material does not provide a detailed expansion timeline.

Local Enrollment Details Vary

The supplied program description does not state how many children are currently enrolled, the exact number of books mailed in a specific month, or how many children are served in each country. It also does not explain local eligibility rules, registration steps, delivery timelines, or whether every community within the five listed countries currently participates.

Funding shares and local administration are not detailed in the material. The organization describes books as age-appropriate, but the provided information does not list titles or selection criteria. Families should consult the official Imagination Library website and their local partner for current details rather than assume that availability and enrollment processes are identical everywhere.

Check Local Program Availability

The organization’s website is the next point of reference for families seeking to register a child or confirm whether their community participates. Local partners can provide details on enrollment, delivery and any area-specific requirements. The source material does not announce a new expansion, policy change or upcoming milestone, so no specific program change is confirmed here.

For readers tracking the program’s scale, a dated enrollment count and country-level distribution figures would clarify how many children are being served. Those figures are not included in the information supplied for this report.

Key Questions

Who can receive books from the Imagination Library?

The program is for children from birth through age five. Families should check the official site or local partner to confirm enrollment availability in their community.

How often does the program send a book?

The organization says registered children receive one specially selected book each month, mailed to their home.

Where does the program operate?

The organization lists the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia and the Republic of Ireland. Participation and registration details may depend on the local community.

Do families pay for the books?

The books are provided free of charge to children. The organization says funding is shared by Dolly Parton and local community partners; the supplied information does not describe the precise funding arrangement in each area.

When did Dolly Parton start the Imagination Library?

Parton started the program in 1995 for children in her home county in East Tennessee.

Source: hn

Parenting content here is informational. For medical questions about your child, consult a pediatrician.
HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Opinion: Books Anchored My Childhood. I Found A Way To Share Them Across Kansas City

A Lincoln College Preparatory Academy student built three Little Libraries with books and school guides as an International Baccalaureate service project.

How to Teach Your Baby to Read: A Step-by-Step Guide

Want to unlock your baby's potential? Learn how to teach them to read effectively and set them up for a lifetime of learning success.

Ford: Banning Books Doesn’t Help Kids — And Won’t Stop Them From Reading Them

Ford states banning books does not help children and won’t prevent them from reading, emphasizing the importance of access to diverse literature.

Bedtime Stories for Baby: Creating a Nightly Routine

Uncover the magic of bedtime stories for baby by creating a nightly routine that enhances language skills and fosters a love for learning.